LONDON — Former Tennessee NCAA champions and All-American sprinters Justin Gatlin and Christian Coleman took gold and silver, respectively, in Saturday's men's 100-meter final of the London 2017 IAAF World Championships at London Stadium.

Gatlin clocked a 9.92 and Coleman clocked a 9.94 to finish ahead of Usain Bolt, who took bronze in 9.95. The race marked Bolt's final 100 meters of his distinguished career. Bolt is slated to run for Jamaica's men's 4x100.

Gatlin's 9.92 was his season best and gave him his first 100-meter IAAF World Championships gold since 2005 in Helsinki. He qualified for the final after taking second place in the first heat of the semifinals in 10.09.

Coleman finished ahead of Bolt twice on Saturday. In his first race against the legendary Jamaican sprinter, Coleman took the third heat of the semifinals in 9.97 while Bolt was right behind him at 9.98.

RELATED: Coleman heads into worlds confident, ready for spotlight

Gatlin and Coleman will join forces for Team USA on Aug. 12 when they run in the men's 4x100.

Tennessee greats Aries Merritt and Tianna Bartoletta will begin competing in their respective events in the coming days. Merritt will hit the track for the men's 110-meter hurdles heats on Sunday, starting at 8:15 a.m. ET (1:15 p.m. in London). Bartoletta will begin competing in the women's long jump on Aug. 9 at 2:10 p.m. ET (7:10 p.m. London time). She will also run in the women's 4x100 on Aug. 12.